Cottage/Chalet in United States

Any time

Contract types:
- Home Exchange

Can accomodate: 6
Number of bedrooms: 3
Number of bathrooms: 2

Owner's description:
House has three bedrooms, an office with wireless internet and VoIP (free long distance phone), two living rooms, a play room, a laundry room, a jetted tub and another tub. The home is three years old, a California split, nice neighborhood. I'll need to take a photo of the house. I'll put a pic of me and my girls there for now.

About the owner

"I would like to host a person or family and take them camping or skiing OR house-swap in the future. Hosting is free up to a week if mutually agreed upon and is intended for cultural exchange. Sadly, I only speak English, but possibly I can catch on to German (took six years of it, can't speak a word). I was an ESL teacher in Tokyo but wasn't able to pick up the language. I am a novelist ( and technical writer. My husband is an information technology/network specialist for a printer/publisher and a Native American singer/performer. We have two daughters, almost 9 and 4--brilliant and funny. The oldest is learning sign language and is very friendly with other children. The youngest is a bit shy but gets over it quickly. We live in a college town--a small mountain town--with two medium-sized dogs and a horse. I am agnostic; my husband ascribes to Native American sprituality (he's Navajo, Cheyenne, Arapaho). Our dogs are strange but friendly, our horse is old but gentle, and our community is Mormon but they'll bring you cookies and bread and they're as nice as Mormons get--they don't care that we're interracial, nonreligious, and adamently Democrat. Our home is an hour and a half from Salt Lake City International Airport and about the same from a half-dozen ski resorts; it is five to ten minutes away from four canyons with great fishing and camping and a half-hour from Bear Lake. The town? What can I say? Quaint. No alcohol on Sundays. Not terribly interesting. Excellent views--Rocky Mountains all around. Our yard is huge and must be landscaped this spring (we just moved here in October 2006). Utah doesn't have a lot of culture but I can set up a possible itinerary to make the most of it. House is equipped with two pairs of skis and boots (women's American size 8.5, men's American size 9.5 or so) and two free passes to a local ski resort (my father is a ski patrolman), as well as many sleds and river tubes. Summer is my favorite; we love camping and have extra tents. We can also go to the redrock area around Moab, Utah, to four-wheel drive, camp, and see Anasazi ruins, but that is about a six hour drive. An extra vehicle is available for getting around. Hosting requires flexible, kind, patient people! My husband doesn't drink but drinking's fine. I'm mostly quit smoking, but smoking is fine; chainsmokers, however, should step outside to the porch. I am building a photography dark room which should be ready by spring; you can use it as much as you wish. We have wireless internet access and way too many printers."

Spoken Languages:

Number of people in a party:4
Childrens in party
No smoker in party
No pet in party

Wants to go to:

    Any time


Join Friendly Travelers to discuss this property